Checked on 28 September 2026 against the websites of 26 UK stairlift suppliers. Stairlift Guru is an independent information site. We are not a lender or a credit broker, we do not arrange finance, and this page is general information, not financial advice.
A stairlift is a large bill to meet in one go, and many families would rather spread it. You can, in two main ways: rent the lift for a monthly fee, or buy it and pay the price back in instalments through a finance agreement. This guide sets out what each route costs using the prices and terms UK suppliers publish themselves, and what to check before you sign anything.
Key Takeaways
- Yes, you can pay for a stairlift monthly. Renting is the most widely offered route: 12 of the 26 suppliers we checked publish a full price for renting a straight stairlift, and the ongoing fee is £50 a month at the median, after an upfront fee of between £245 and £1,300.
- Finance to buy a stairlift is less common than people expect. Nine of the 26 suppliers mention finance on their websites, only two publish a representative example, and both show the same one: 15.9% APR fixed over 36 months with a 25% deposit.
- On that example, a new straight stairlift at the £1,995 median advertised price costs about £53 a month for three years after a £499 deposit, or about £70 a month with no deposit.
- Renting costs less for short-term use. Across the 12 suppliers, the median rental bill passes the price of a new £1,995 straight stairlift after about two and a half years (30 to 31 months).
- Check free and cheaper routes first. A council Disabled Facilities Grant can pay the whole cost, and VAT relief takes about a sixth off the price of buying or renting for an eligible disabled user.
We do not sell or install stairlifts. Quotes go to UK suppliers.
If you buy a stairlift from a supplier we introduced you to, that supplier pays us a fee. Requesting quotes is free and we are not paid for the request itself. How we are funded
Free, no obligation • UK-based suppliers only
Short Answer: Can You Pay for a Stairlift Monthly?
Yes. Renting a straight stairlift typically costs about £50 a month once an upfront fee of a few hundred pounds is paid, with servicing and repairs included and the lift removed when you no longer need it. Buying on finance works out at roughly £53 a month over three years for a new straight stairlift with a 25% deposit, based on the only representative example UK suppliers publish (15.9% APR). Most of the large national brands do not offer finance on their websites, so if you want credit, ask each company directly. Renting is usually cheaper for up to about two and a half years of use; beyond that, buying tends to cost less.
Want monthly prices for your own staircase? Tell us about the stairs and we will put you in touch with installers who can quote for renting and buying.
We do not sell or install stairlifts. Quotes go to UK suppliers.
If you buy a stairlift from a supplier we introduced you to, that supplier pays us a fee. Requesting quotes is free and we are not paid for the request itself. How we are funded
1. The Ways to Spread the Cost
There are three ways to pay for a stairlift over time, and they work quite differently.
Renting means the supplier keeps ownership of the lift. You pay an upfront fee that covers installation and usually removal, then a monthly or weekly charge for as long as the lift stays in. Servicing, breakdowns and repairs are normally included, and when the lift is no longer needed the supplier takes it away. You never own it, and the payments stop when it goes.
Finance means you buy the lift and borrow some or all of the price, usually through a lender the supplier introduces you to. You repay a fixed amount each month over an agreed term, often with interest, and the lift is yours. Once the manufacturer’s warranty ends, servicing and repairs are your responsibility, which our guide to stairlift running costs covers.
The third route is to pay the supplier in full with credit you arrange yourself, such as a credit card or a personal loan from your bank. That gives you the same ownership as finance, and paying at least part of the price by credit card brings extra legal protection, explained in section 7.
2. Renting: About £50 a Month Once You Are Set Up
Rental prices are published more openly than finance terms. Of the 26 suppliers we checked, 12 publish both the upfront fee and the ongoing charge for a straight stairlift. We read each supplier’s own website on 28 September 2026. The first-year total is our own calculation from each supplier’s published figures, and assumes the monthly fee is charged from the first month unless the supplier says the upfront fee includes some months.
| Supplier | Upfront fee and what it covers | Ongoing charge | Minimum term | First-year total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Affordable Stairlifts | £695: installation, warranty and 3 months’ rental | £50 a month | Not stated | £1,145 |
| Age UK Mobility | Around £1,300: installation and the first 6 months’ rental | From £80 a month, from month 7 | 6 months, with no refund in that period | £1,780 |
| Central Mobility | From £450, including removal | From £50 a month | None | £1,050 |
| Dolphin Lifts | £700 a year: installation, removal, 12 months’ rental, servicing and repairs | £50 a month after the first year | Not stated (priced by the year) | £700 |
| 1st Choice Stairlifts | Around £450: fitting, first month’s rental and removal | From around £50 a month | None | £1,000 |
| Kudos Stairlifts | £750: installation and removal (£900 if VAT is payable) | £75 a month, paid in advance (£90 if VAT is payable) | Not stated | £1,650 |
| Millercare | £450: installation, removal and handling | £100 a month | 3 months | £1,650 |
| Mobility Living Centre | £350: installation and collection | £50 a month | None | £950 |
| My Mobility UK | £695, covering 3 months’ rental | £50 a month | Not stated | £1,145 |
| Rental Stairlifts | £245 initial payment | £10.38 a week (about £45 a month) | Terms from 1 month | £785 |
| Top Flight Stairlifts | £600: supply, installation and the first 3 months’ rental | £60 a month from month 4 | Rental periods from 3 months | £1,140 |
| Unicorn Stairlifts | £300: installation and removal | £40 a month | A minimum term applies (ask for details) | £780 |
Once the upfront period is over, the ongoing charge ranges from £40 to £100 a month and is £50 at half of these suppliers. The upfront fee varies far more, from £245 to around £1,300, largely because some suppliers fold several months of rent into it. That is why the first-year total is the fairer comparison: it runs from £700 to £1,780, with a median of £1,095.
Several other suppliers rent stairlifts without publishing a price. Acorn offers rental on its Acorn 130 and Acorn 180 models, Stannah charges a one-off fee plus a set monthly fee and says you are only committed to one month’s rent in advance, and Halton Stairlifts says it has no minimum term on straight or curved rental. TK Home Solutions and Senior Stairlifts also rent. Companion Stairlifts and UK Stairlifts say they do not.
Curved stairlifts can be rented too, but the rail is made for your stairs, so the upfront fee is higher. The published examples are £950 plus £80 a month (Unicorn Stairlifts), from £2,000 plus £100 a month (1st Choice Stairlifts) and around £3,000 covering the first six months, then from £80 a month (Age UK Mobility). Our stairlift rental guide covers contracts, notice periods and the questions to ask before you sign.
3. Finance: What UK Suppliers Actually Offer
Finance to buy a stairlift is offered by fewer suppliers than rental, and the terms are rarely published. Nine of the 26 suppliers mention finance on their websites. The table shows what each one says.
| Supplier | Lender or broker named | What the website says |
|---|---|---|
| Adapt A Home | PayItMonthly | Selected products over a maximum of 12 monthly instalments. The page states that PayItMonthly “is not currently regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority”. |
| Affordable Stairlifts | Ideal4Finance (credit broker, FRN 703401) | Representative example: £5,000 purchase, £1,250 deposit, £3,750 credit, 15.9% APR fixed over 36 months, 36 monthly repayments of £131.65, total payable £4,739.54. |
| Felgains | Not named | A finance plans page for mobility aids, with no terms shown. |
| Halton Stairlifts | Snap Finance (Halton acts as a credit broker, FCA register number 624954) | No APR or example shown. Halton may ask for a 20% deposit on every order and 50%, non-refundable, on custom-made lifts. |
| Leodis Stairlifts | Ideal4Finance | No APR or example shown. The rate “will depend upon your personal circumstances, the loan amount and the term”. |
| Millercare | Snap Finance | A Snap Finance page, with no terms shown. |
| My Mobility UK | Ideal4Finance | The same representative example as Affordable Stairlifts, plus total interest payable of £989.54. |
| Senior Stairlifts | Snap Finance | Loans of 18 to 48 months. A “Pay in 4” feature cancels the interest if the loan is settled in full within four months. No APR shown. |
| TK Home Solutions | Ideal4Finance | “0% APR finance”, subject to status. No term or example on the page we read. |
We found no finance offer on the websites of Acorn, Stannah, Handicare, Age UK Mobility, Brooks, Companion Stairlifts, Dolphin Lifts, Kudos Stairlifts, Mobility Living Centre, 1st Choice Stairlifts, Top Flight Stairlifts, Unicorn Stairlifts, Baker Stairlifts, Central Mobility, Rental Stairlifts or Multicare Mobility. Age UK Mobility, which supplies Handicare lifts, states that Handicare “does not offer financing options” and points buyers to grants. Companion’s advice page on paying for a stairlift covers grants and social services only. Several of these firms rent instead, and a supplier may still arrange finance if you ask, so it is worth raising on the phone.
The pattern matters for anyone comparing quotes. If you want to spread the cost of buying, you are more likely to be offered it by an independent dealer than by a national brand, and you will usually only see the rate once you apply.
4. What a Stairlift Costs a Month on Finance
Because only one representative example is published, we used it to show what common stairlift prices would cost a month on the same terms: 15.9% APR fixed over 36 months. On that example, every £1,000 borrowed costs about £35 a month. The prices are the median advertised prices from our UK Stairlift Price Index. These are illustrations, not offers: your own rate depends on your circumstances, and lenders often set a minimum loan.
| Stairlift and deposit | Borrowed | Monthly, 36 months | Total paid, including deposit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reconditioned straight, £1,595, no deposit | £1,595 | £56 | £2,016 |
| New straight, £1,995, 25% deposit (£499) | £1,496 | £53 | £2,390 |
| New straight, £1,995, no deposit | £1,995 | £70 | £2,521 |
| New curved, £4,395, 25% deposit (£1,099) | £3,296 | £116 | £5,265 |
| New curved, £4,395, no deposit | £4,395 | £154 | £5,554 |
On these terms, borrowing the whole price of a new straight stairlift adds about £526 to what you would pay in cash. A true 0% offer adds no interest: the same £1,995 lift over 12 months at 0% would be £166.25 a month, and over 12 months a £4,395 curved lift would be £366.25. The monthly payment on a 0% deal is higher because the term is usually shorter.
5. Renting or Finance: Which Costs Less?
It comes down to how long the lift will be needed. We added up each of the 12 published rental prices month by month and found the point where the total passes £1,995, the median advertised price of a new straight stairlift. The median is 30 to 31 months, or about two and a half years. The range is wide, from 15 months at the dearest rentals to 43 months at the cheapest.
Three things shift that comparison. Rental normally includes servicing and repairs for as long as the lift is in, while a bought lift needs paying for once its warranty ends. A bought lift can sometimes be sold or removed for a fee when it is no longer needed, while a rented one is simply collected. And if you buy on finance, the interest makes buying dearer, which pushes the break-even point further out.
As a rough guide, renting suits a need you expect to last for a few months: recovery after an operation, a short-term tenancy, or a situation where the future is uncertain. Buying, with or without finance, tends to cost less when the lift will be used for three years or more. Our comparison of buying new, buying reconditioned or renting walks through the decision.
6. What Changes the Monthly Figure
The type of staircase matters most. A straight stairlift uses a standard rail and costs far less to buy or rent than a curved one, whose rail is built for your stairs. On finance, the median curved price costs more than twice as much a month as a straight one.
Your deposit and the length of the loan come next. A bigger deposit means less to borrow and less interest; a longer term lowers each payment but raises the total. Senior Stairlifts, for example, offers terms from 18 to 48 months, so the same lift can have very different monthly figures.
Your rate depends on your credit history and circumstances, which is why most suppliers do not publish one, and it can differ from any advertised rate. Treat published figures as a guide.
VAT relief has a large effect. If the lift is for someone who is chronically sick or disabled, buying it is zero-rated for VAT, and HMRC’s VAT Notice 701/7 also allows the hire of eligible goods to be zero-rated. Kudos Stairlifts’ published rental shows the difference: £75 a month with the relief, £90 without. You can check the effect on a purchase with our VAT exemption calculator.
A reconditioned lift lowers the amount to borrow for straight stairs, and a grant can remove the need to borrow at all. A council Disabled Facilities Grant can pay for a stairlift in full if the person qualifies, and some charities help too. Councils cannot fund work that has already been done, so speak to them before you sign a finance or rental agreement. Our grant checker and our guide on getting a stairlift free explain who qualifies.
7. Before You Sign a Finance Agreement
Check the firm is authorised. Anyone arranging consumer credit should appear on the Financial Conduct Authority’s Financial Services Register. Many stairlift suppliers act as an introducer for a credit broker, so the names on the agreement may differ from the company that fits the lift.
You have 14 days to change your mind about the credit. Under section 66A of the Consumer Credit Act 1974, you can withdraw from a regulated credit agreement within 14 days without giving a reason. Withdrawing from the loan is separate from cancelling the stairlift order, and you would need to repay anything already borrowed, so ask how the two fit together before you commit.
Paying with credit adds protection. According to the Financial Ombudsman Service, section 75 can apply where you paid some or all of the cost by credit card or with a point-of-sale loan, and the cash price is more than £100 and not more than £30,000. It can mean the lender shares responsibility if the lift is faulty or the supplier fails to deliver.
Buy now, pay later plans are now regulated. The FCA began regulating deferred payment credit on 15 July 2026, so new agreements come with affordability checks, information before you sign and access to the Financial Ombudsman. Agreements taken out before that date are not covered.
Read the deposit terms. A custom-made curved rail is built for one staircase, so some suppliers take a larger deposit and do not refund it; Halton, for example, says it may ask for 50% non-refundable on custom-made lifts. The normal right to cancel can also be limited for goods made to your specification, which our guide to UK stairlift regulations explains.
Take your time. Finance should never be a reason to sign on the day of a home visit. Ask for the rate, the term, the total payable and the deposit in writing, compare it with at least one other quote, and use our stairlift quote checker to see how the price compares.
Compare monthly and one-off prices from more than one installer before you decide.
We do not sell or install stairlifts. Quotes go to UK suppliers.
If you buy a stairlift from a supplier we introduced you to, that supplier pays us a fee. Requesting quotes is free and we are not paid for the request itself. How we are funded
How We Worked Out the Figures
We read the rental, finance and pricing pages of 26 UK stairlift suppliers on 28 September 2026, recording only what each website states. The suppliers were Acorn, Adapt A Home, Affordable Stairlifts, Age UK Mobility, Baker Stairlifts, Brooks, Central Mobility, Companion Stairlifts, Dolphin Lifts, Felgains, 1st Choice Stairlifts, Halton Stairlifts, Handicare, Kudos Stairlifts, Leodis Stairlifts, Millercare, Mobility Living Centre, Multicare Mobility, My Mobility UK, Rental Stairlifts, Senior Stairlifts, Stannah, TK Home Solutions, Top Flight Stairlifts, UK Stairlifts and Unicorn Stairlifts. UK Stairlifts has a finance page that we could not open, so its finance position is not counted either way.
For rental, first-year totals add the upfront fee to twelve months of charges, less any months the supplier says the upfront fee covers. Weekly prices were converted to monthly by multiplying by 52 and dividing by 12. Where a supplier gives a “from” or “around” figure, we used that figure. Suppliers do not always say whether their rental prices include VAT, so ask. To find when renting passes the cost of buying, we added each supplier’s charges month by month until the total exceeded £1,995, then took the median of the 12 results.
For finance, the monthly figures scale the published representative example (£131.65 a month on £3,750 of credit, 15.9% APR over 36 months) in proportion to the amount borrowed. The purchase prices are the median advertised prices in our Price Index, captured on 20 August 2026: £1,995 for a new straight stairlift, £4,395 for a new curved one and £1,595 for a reconditioned one.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can you pay for a stairlift monthly?
Yes. You can rent a stairlift for a monthly fee, usually about £50 a month for a straight lift after an upfront fee, or buy one on finance and repay it monthly. Renting is offered by many more suppliers than finance.
How much is a stairlift a month on finance?
On the only representative example UK suppliers publish (15.9% APR over 36 months), a new straight stairlift at the £1,995 median price costs about £53 a month with a 25% deposit, or about £70 a month with no deposit. A new curved lift at £4,395 costs about £116 a month with a 25% deposit.
Do Stannah and Acorn offer stairlift finance?
We found no finance offer on either company’s website when we checked in September 2026. Both offer rental. Ask the company directly, as terms can change.
Is it cheaper to rent or buy a stairlift?
Renting is usually cheaper for short-term use. Across 12 UK suppliers that publish rental prices, the median rental total passes the £1,995 median price of a new straight stairlift after 30 to 31 months. Buying tends to cost less if the lift will be used for three years or more.
Can you get 0% finance on a stairlift?
Some suppliers advertise it. TK Home Solutions advertises 0% APR finance subject to status, and Senior Stairlifts’ finance partner cancels the interest if the loan is repaid within four months. Always ask for the term, the deposit and the total payable in writing.
Do you pay VAT on a rented stairlift?
Not if it is for a person who is chronically sick or disabled. HMRC guidance allows the hire of eligible equipment such as a stairlift to be zero-rated, in the same way as buying one.
Sources
- Supplier pages, all read on 28 September 2026: Acorn; Adapt A Home; Affordable Stairlifts rental and finance; Age UK Mobility rental and stairlifts; Baker Stairlifts; Brooks; Central Mobility; Companion Stairlifts rental and financing; Dolphin Lifts; Felgains; 1st Choice Stairlifts; Halton Stairlifts finance terms and rental; Handicare; Kudos Stairlifts; Leodis Stairlifts; Millercare hire prices and finance; Mobility Living Centre; Multicare Mobility; My Mobility UK rental and finance; Rental Stairlifts; Senior Stairlifts finance and rental; Stannah; TK Home Solutions; Top Flight Stairlifts; UK Stairlifts; Unicorn Stairlifts straight and curved rental.
- HMRC, VAT Notice 701/7: VAT reliefs for disabled and older people (section 4.12, letting of goods on hire or lease).
- Consumer Credit Act 1974, section 66A (withdrawal from a consumer credit agreement).
- Financial Ombudsman Service, Problems with goods and services: section 75 and chargeback.
- Financial Conduct Authority, Buy Now Pay Later (regulation from 15 July 2026).
- Financial Conduct Authority, Financial Services Register.
Stairlift Guru is independent and is not owned by or affiliated with any stairlift manufacturer, installer, lender or credit broker. Supplier prices and terms change, so confirm the current figures with the supplier before you sign.
Choosing a stairlift: our six guides
Independent UK guides on every stage of the decision and the install.
- Is it time for a stairlift? , The decision before you start. Signs, conversations, and what to try first.
- Types of stairlift , Straight, curved, narrow, outdoor, heavy-duty, standing. Which one fits your home.
- Stairlift prices , What stairlifts actually cost in the UK. By type, with what changes the price.
- Stairlift grants and funding , Disabled Facilities Grant, NHS, charity, finance. Who pays for what.
- Buy, rent, or reconditioned , The three routes compared, with a decision flowchart.
- Living with a stairlift , Install, servicing, repair, batteries, sell, remove. The full lifecycle.


