Quick answer
The 1100 is a slim-rail straight stairlift rated to 140kg on stairs between 30 and 45 degrees, falling to 130kg between 46 and 50 degrees. Its distinguishing published features are a rail with no tooth rack, so there is no grease or oil on the rail, a four-motor friction drive, a folded width of 320mm to the footplate, and track intrusion into the staircase of 160mm. It also charges continuously along the rail, so it can be parked anywhere, not only at a charge point. UK dealers advertised new units at £1,795 to £2,195 and reconditioned units at £1,295 to £1,795 when we checked on 25 September 2026.
Stairlift Guru is independent and is not owned by or affiliated with any stairlift manufacturer.
We do not sell or install stairlifts. Quotes go to UK suppliers.
If you buy a stairlift from a supplier we introduced you to, that supplier pays us a fee. Requesting quotes is free and we are not paid for the request itself. How we are funded
Free, no obligation • UK-based suppliers only
Key facts
- Maximum user weight is 140kg on stairs from 30 to 45 degrees, and 130kg from 46 to 50 degrees. The published stair angle range is 25 to 50 degrees.
- Folded width to the footplate is 320mm and minimum track intrusion into the staircase is 160mm. Those are the published numbers behind the slim-stair positioning.
- No minimum staircase width is published by the manufacturer for the 1100, on any page or document we read.
- The drive is a patented four-wheel, four-motor arrangement with no tooth rack, which is why the manufacturer states there is no grease or oil on the rail.
- The lift charges continuously along the rail, so parking is not restricted to a charge station.
- The published UK warranty is two years, and the manufacturer states it is void if the lift is worked on by anyone other than a certified dealer, if non-original parts are used, or if a second-hand unit is reinstalled with different parts such as a different rail.
Who sells and supports it in the UK
Worth establishing before anything else, because the corporate position has changed recently. The 1100 is a Savaria group product. The international product documentation carries the entity Handicare Stairlifts B.V. of Heerhugowaard in the Netherlands, and Savaria Corporation acquired Handicare Group in 2021.
In the UK the lift is sold and supported under the trading name Handicare Stairlifts UK. That site’s own company details page gives company number 4109393 at Kingswinford, West Midlands. Companies House shows company 04109393 as active and now named Savaria Lifts (UK) Ltd, having been Handicare Accessibility Limited until 19 January 2026, and Minivator Limited before 2010. The UK site still describes the entity under a slightly different spelling, so the safest way to refer to it is company number 04109393, registered as Savaria Lifts (UK) Ltd, trading as Handicare Stairlifts UK.
That matters for one practical reason. Warranty and servicing obligations sit with whoever currently holds them, and the 1100’s published warranty terms depend on work being done by a certified dealer. If you are buying now, or hold cover on an existing lift, confirm in writing which entity you are contracting with.
Who it fits, and who should look elsewhere
The 1100 suits a straight staircase where space is the constraint. The published folded width of 320mm and track intrusion of 160mm are the figures to put in front of a surveyor, alongside our narrow stairs guide and our page on the slimmest stairlifts available in the UK. The rack-free rail is also relevant in a household where an oiled or greased rail at hand height would be a nuisance, for instance where children use the stairs.
It also suits anyone who wants to park the chair out of the way instead of at a fixed charge point, since continuous charging along the rail removes that constraint.
Look elsewhere if the user is above 140kg, or above 130kg on a staircase steeper than 45 degrees. Look elsewhere if your staircase is outside the 25 to 50 degree range. And be careful about relying on the narrow-stair positioning without a survey: the manufacturer publishes the folded width and the track intrusion but no minimum staircase width, and the one dealer figure we found for minimum width, 690mm, is not corroborated by any manufacturer document.
Published specification
| Item | Published figure |
|---|---|
| Maximum user weight, 30 to 45 degrees | 140kg / 22 stone |
| Maximum user weight, 46 to 50 degrees | 130kg / 20 stone |
| Stair angle range | 25 to 50 degrees |
| Speed | 0.15 metres per second |
| Drive | Four-wheel drive, four motors, no tooth rack |
| Rail | Slim aluminium, no grease or oil required on the rail |
| Minimum folded width to footplate | 320mm |
| Minimum open width to footplate edge | 530mm |
| Minimum track intrusion into staircase | 160mm |
| Minimum swivel radius | 645mm |
| Seat depth | 390mm |
| Armrest width | 450mm internal, 575mm external |
| Seat back height | 400mm |
| Footplate to seat height | 430 to 520mm |
| Standard | EN 81-40 |
Seat width is not published in any source we read. The closest published figures are armrest internal width at 450mm and seat depth at 390mm, and neither is a seat width. A full folded envelope beyond the 320mm width is not published either. Our stairlift specifications table keeps published figures separated by model so they do not get merged.
Two features appear on the North American product page but not on the UK-facing manufacturer pages: a retractable seatbelt, and two remote controls supplied. Treat those as North American publications and confirm the UK specification with your dealer. Do not assume they carry across.
Features as published
The seat swivels at the top landing, with a one-way powered swivel available as an option. Seat, footrest and armrests all fold. Safety sensors stop the lift if it meets an obstruction, with sensors on the footrest and carriage. A powered footplate is an option.
Rail options include Easy Hinge, described on the UK page as a manual fold-away track, Zero Intrusion, and Slide Track with automatic positioning. The battery arrangement is 24V DC with continuous charge functionality along the rail.
The manufacturer describes the rail as the narrowest on the market. That is its own claim, not an independently verified one, and the numbers worth quoting instead are the 320mm folded width and the 160mm track intrusion, which are measurable and comparable.
Prices
The manufacturer publishes no price for the 1100. These are dealer-advertised figures read on each dealer’s own page on 25 September 2026.
| Dealer | Condition | Advertised price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| M1 Stairlifts, via eBay UK | Reconditioned | £1,295 | Listed as fully installed with warranty; listing content last updated May 2024 |
| My Mobility UK | Reconditioned | £1,395 | Sold under the dealer’s own model label |
| Affordable Stairlifts | Reconditioned | £1,500 | Inclusions and VAT status not stated |
| Reconditioned Stairlift Prices | Reconditioned | £1,500 | Inclusions and VAT status not stated |
| Ableworld | New | £1,795 | Dealer states three years parts excluding batteries, 12 months labour, lifetime motor and gearbox |
| Mobile Mobility | New | From £1,795 excluding VAT | Supplied and fitted within Leicestershire only |
| My Mobility UK | New | £2,195 | Sold under the dealer’s own model label |
| Capitol Mobility | New | From £2,045 | The page also displays other figures; confirm before relying on it |
Three cautions. Two of those dealers publish the same Bradford address, so treat their prices as potentially one commercial source, not two independent ones. One dealer relabels the product under its own model name, which is worth knowing when comparing listings. And VAT treatment is unstated on almost all of them, with only one specifying that its figure excludes VAT, which on a £1,795 lift is a difference of around £359. Our quote checker will place any figure you hold against current UK ranges.
One dealer publishes a maximum user weight of 139kg against the manufacturer’s 140kg. Where a dealer specification and the manufacturer’s documentation disagree, rely on the manufacturer’s.
Warranty and servicing
The published UK warranty is two years. That figure appears in the page metadata on the Handicare Stairlifts UK guarantee and maintenance page, and not in the visible body copy, which describes a manufacturer’s warranty without stating a length, so ask for the length in writing. The North American page states 24 months against defective parts, which is consistent in length for a different market.
The published invalidation conditions are the part to read closely. The warranty is void if work is carried out by anyone other than a certified dealer, if non-original parts are used, or if a second-hand stairlift is reinstalled with different parts such as a different rail, and the page states the CE mark becomes invalid immediately in those circumstances. Servicing by an approved engineer at least once a year is recommended, more with heavy use, and extended warranty agreements are conditional on regular servicing.
An itemised list of inclusions and exclusions is not published, and battery coverage is not addressed. Ask about batteries specifically, since they are the most commonly replaced part.
Dealer warranties are separate from the manufacturer’s and should not be conflated. One dealer above advertises three years on parts excluding batteries with 12 months labour and a lifetime motor and gearbox warranty, without stating who provides it. Ask which company stands behind any cover you are offered.
Reconditioned market
Reconditioned 1100 units are sold in the UK by independent dealers, not by the manufacturer, at £1,295 to £1,795 on the listings above.
Pair that with the warranty condition above before buying. The manufacturer states that a second-hand stairlift reinstalled with different parts, giving a different rail as its example, voids both the warranty and the CE mark. A reconditioned 1100 fitted to a different staircase will usually need a rail cut or sourced for that staircase, so ask the seller directly whether the rail is original to the unit, what warranty they are providing themselves, and what the conformity position is. Our reconditioned stairlifts guide covers the wider checks.
What owners discuss most
The Handicare Stairlifts UK profile on Trustpilot showed 4.5 out of 5 from approximately 1,975 reviews on 25 September 2026, with 76 per cent at five stars and 16 per cent at one star. Trustpilot’s own labels on the page state the company replied to 20 per cent of negative reviews, typically replies within two weeks, and has no recent history of asking customers for reviews, with Trustpilot adding its own caveat that reviews may therefore not be representative. We reproduce that caveat because it is Trustpilot’s own and it bears on how the score should be read.
Recurring subjects in positive reviews are the conduct of installers and surveyors, explanation and demonstration at handover, installation speed and minimal disruption, tidiness, and the smoothness of the process end to end. Recurring subjects in negative reviews are aftercare and breakdown response, including delays getting an engineer and difficulty reaching support, availability of emergency or out-of-hours support, and communication during urgent situations.
The distribution is polarised, with most reviews at four or five stars and a smaller concentrated band at one star whose recurring content is about service response, and not installation or sales. We report that as an observed structure of the review set and not as a measure of the equipment. No reliability or durability conclusion is drawn here, and none is supportable from review counts.
Funding
The Disabled Facilities Grant can pay towards an 1100, up to £30,000 in England and £36,000 in Wales, means-tested for adults and not for disabled children under 18. VAT relief may apply: HMRC’s VAT Notice 701/7 provides for zero-rating for customers who are chronically sick or disabled, on a written declaration, and a reduced 5 per cent rate on certain mobility aids including stair lifts for people aged 60 or over where the supplier both supplies and installs. Given that one dealer above quotes excluding VAT, confirm which basis your quote uses. Our stairlift grants guide covers the route.
- Handicare Stairlifts company page
- Handicare straight stairlifts
- Narrow stairs stairlifts
- What is the slimmest stairlift available in the UK
- Reconditioned stairlifts
- Stairlift specifications
- Stairlift grants
Sources
- Handicare 1100 straight stairlift, Handicare Stairlifts UK, https://handicare-stairlifts.co.uk/stairlifts/straight-stairlifts/1100/, accessed 25 September 2026.
- Handicare 1100, Handicare Stairlifts international, https://handicare-stairlifts.com/stairlifts/straight-stairlifts/1100/, accessed 25 September 2026.
- Company details, Handicare Stairlifts UK, https://handicare-stairlifts.co.uk/company-details/, accessed 25 September 2026.
- Stairlift guarantee and maintenance, Handicare Stairlifts UK, https://handicare-stairlifts.co.uk/services/stairlift-guarantee-maintenance/, accessed 25 September 2026.
- Handicare 1100, Savaria, https://www.savaria.com/stairlifts/products/straight-handicare-1100, accessed 25 September 2026.
- Handicare 1100 Style Seat dimensions, doc V1 – 1/2017, https://www.1stchoicestairlifts.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/handicare-1100-stairlift-dimensions.pdf, accessed 25 September 2026.
- Company 04109393, Companies House, https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04109393, accessed 25 September 2026.
- Savaria officially acquires Handicare, THIIS Magazine, https://thiis.co.uk/breaking-savaria-officially-acquires-handicare-as-it-confirms-mobility-industry-mega-merger/, accessed 25 September 2026.
- Dealer listings read on 25 September 2026: Ableworld https://www.ableworld.co.uk/stairlifts-handicare-1100-straight-stairlift.aspx; Capitol Mobility https://capitolmobility.co.uk/product/handicare-1100-straight-stairlift/; Mobile Mobility https://www.mobile-mobility.co.uk/handicare-1100-6391-p.asp; Affordable Stairlifts https://affordablestairlifts.co.uk/product/handicare-1100-reconditioned-straight-stairlifts/; Reconditioned Stairlift Prices https://reconditionedstairliftprices.co.uk/product/handicare-1100-reconditioned-straight-stairlift/; My Mobility UK https://mymobilityuk.co.uk/product-category/handicare-stairlifts/; M1 Stairlifts https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/166331612325
- Handicare Stairlifts UK reviews, Trustpilot, https://uk.trustpilot.com/review/handicare.co.uk, accessed 25 September 2026.
- Reliefs from VAT for disabled and older people (VAT Notice 701/7), HMRC, last updated 31 December 2020, https://www.gov.uk/guidance/reliefs-from-vat-for-disabled-and-older-people-notice-7017, accessed 25 September 2026.
- Disabled Facilities Grants: what you’ll get, GOV.UK, https://www.gov.uk/disabled-facilities-grants/what-youll-get, accessed 25 September 2026.
How we are funded
We do not sell or install stairlifts. Quotes go to UK suppliers. If you buy a stairlift from a supplier we introduced you to, that supplier pays us a fee. Requesting quotes is free and we are not paid for the request itself. Stairlift Guru is published by Whito Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales (number 10918465), and we have no ownership link to any supplier.
How to cite this page
Stairlift Guru, “Handicare 1100 Straight Stairlift Review”, stairliftguru.co.uk, reviewed September 2026. Specifications are the manufacturer’s published figures. Prices are dealer-advertised and dated, because the manufacturer publishes none.
Last reviewed: September 2026. Editor: Jacob Whitmore.
Choosing a stairlift: our six guides
Independent UK guides on every stage of the decision and the install.
- Is it time for a stairlift? , The decision before you start. Signs, conversations, and what to try first.
- Types of stairlift , Straight, curved, narrow, outdoor, heavy-duty, standing. Which one fits your home.
- Stairlift prices , What stairlifts actually cost in the UK. By type, with what changes the price.
- Stairlift grants and funding , Disabled Facilities Grant, NHS, charity, finance. Who pays for what.
- Buy, rent, or reconditioned , The three routes compared, with a decision flowchart.
- Living with a stairlift , Install, servicing, repair, batteries, sell, remove. The full lifecycle.
About this brand page
Last reviewed: September 2026. Editor: Jacob Whitmore. Independent. Stairlift Guru does not sell stairlifts.
How we research brand pages: we cross-reference manufacturer or installer trading details, BHTA membership, product line, prices published by the maker, its dealers and sellers, public reviews on Trustpilot and Which?, and any regulatory or trading-standards action. Full methodology at how we research.
Editorial neutrality: brand pages do not include disparaging or subjective quality claims we cannot defend with a source, and ranking on best-of lists is not influenced by commercial relationships. See our editorial policy.
Spotted a factual error on this page? Email contact@stairliftguru.co.uk. Substantive corrections are made within five working days.

